Developing ROOT Software

Hello,
This is just a general question, and I’m not sure if this is the best place to ask it…
I am an undergraduate student in physics graduating in May, and I’ve been using the ROOT software to do HEP data-analysis research for about a year. I aspire to one day develop ROOT software, so I am trying to look into Master’s programs to apply to that will get me closer to this goal. I don’t really have a background in software development, but I have been practicing programming in C++ every day and also in Research and tuoring. My plan is to apply to computational science Master’s programs.

I basically would like some advice on what to do with regards to applying to graduate programs and what I can do in the interim, to be able to one day contribute to ROOT software.

Hi @Edward_Finkelstein,

Typically the forum is focused on asking/answering questions on ROOT itself, but there we go.

To reply to your first question, I am sorry I cannot recommend any MSc programme; I guess that depends mostly on the specific area of interest within Computer Science, Universities in your area (if you plan to personally attend the course), or whether it is a pure-online programme. Maybe if you provide information about your location, other people can make any recommendation.

Regarding contributing to ROOT, we accept contributions from any user via a GitHub pull-request. Pull requests are always reviewed by an expert in the corresponding part of ROOT before being integrated into the master branch.

If you want to contribute to ROOT, I would recommend browsing through GitHub issues here. Find something that is easy to accomplish, get familiarized with ROOT source code, and try to contribute a solution via a pull-request.

Cheers,
J.

1 Like