Cycle driven processing using fortran package

Hi.
I am new to PROOF use. I am using Extensive Air Shower simulation package CORSIKA which is written in fortran. How can I fire many simulation jobs, in parallel, on cluster, using fortran executable of CORSIKA in PROOF ?

Hi,

PROOF is designed to work with ROOT TTrees and it is written in C++.
With some tricks, it can be used as a scheduler of tasks, possibly externals, and then collect the results of these tasks.
To understand it this could make sense and how difficult it could be, you should explain a bit more how you usually run your code, in terms of input parameters and output handling.

G. Ganis

Hi,
Back to this problem.
So I have this Fortran code with executable named corsika. Now we provide a text input file to this executable. According to inputs it simulates many events of particle air showers and stores them to binary file. (Actually number of events to be generated is given as an input parameter and I do not have event level control on working of this code.) We generate many input files using shell script and then execute this code on input files using shell scipt (pseudo)-parallely.
To use ROOT/Proof, I have written a code to convert output binary file of corsika to ‘.root’ format (by storing event data in TTree format) and beyond this point I know (at least have an idea) about how to use Proof on my .root files.
My problem is

1. How to do binary to .root conversion parallel ?
  2. If it is not possible then how to properly distribute the .root files on workers for further analysis with Proof ? Also How can I register these .root files as Datasets ?

Dear Chinmay,

Sorry for the late reply, due mostly t the Xmas break.

[quote=“Chinmay”]1. How to do binary to .root conversion parallel ?
2. If it is not possible then how to properly distribute the .root files on workers for further analysis with Proof ? Also How can I register these .root files as Datasets ?[/quote]