Creating an executable from an unnamed macro

Dear ROOTers,
I have an unnamed macro than read a text data file to fill a TTree and save it to a ROOT file.

Is possible (and easy to do ^^) to compile it and generate an executable file in order to speed up execution?

Should I use gcc or the ROOT compiler? I’m not an expert of gcc and makefiles…

I think i’m using, in addition to std libraries such as iostream and fstream, the following ROOT classes:
TFile, TTree, TMath, TGFileDialog
In the help I can found the .h file, but which libraries should i include?

Moreover i have two classes made by me and compiled by AcLib… how can i link the .so files?

Otherwise i could try to change the unnamed macro in a dummy class that do the work, compiling it with AcLib… which solution is the simplest?

Thanks a lot
Matteo

Hi,

[quote=“alfonsi”]I have an unnamed macro than read a text data file to fill a TTree and save it to a ROOT file.

Is possible (and easy to do ^^) to compile it and generate an executable file in order to speed up execution?[/quote] Make it a named one. Compilers cannot understand unnamed macros.

[quote=“alfonsi”]Should I use gcc or the ROOT compiler? I’m not an expert of gcc and makefiles…[/quote]Use ACLiC, i.e. .L mycode.C+.

[quote=“alfonsi”]I think i’m using, in addition to std libraries such as iostream and fstream, the following ROOT classes:
TFile, TTree, TMath, TGFileDialog
In the help I can found the .h file, but which libraries should i include?[/quote]Don’t worry, ACLiC will take care of that. FYI, the libraries are stated in the doc, too, just below the include files.

[quote=“alfonsi”]Moreover i have two classes made by me and compiled by AcLib… how can i link the .so files?[/quote]ACLiC will take care of that, too. Just load them before building your dependent code with ACLiC.