Create a Branch as a child of another Branch

Hi,

I’m very new to Root. I’ve successfully created a file with lots of TTree below, all of which have branches and leaves below them.

But - what i want to do is to create a deeper structure, using branches that are children of other branches. The TBranch::TBranch documentation seems to suggest this is possible: root.cern.ch/root/html/TBranch.h … :TBranch@3

But i cant get anything to work. I’ve checked the examples, and searched the root site for more detail, but not found any.

Can anybody help with some example code?

Cheers
Gerard

Hi Gerard,

what you might do is topbranch->GetListOfBranches()->Add(subbranch), but I would not really recommend this. What are you trying to achieve? Wouldn’t be your issue be solved by the way in which you design your data model? Btw, what do you intend to write?

Cheers,
Danilo

Hi Danilo,

thanks for the reply.

I’ll have a go at describing what i’m trying to do data-wise - i’m sure its basic, i’m just struggling to understand how to do it!

I want to store many sets of results, i was planning to store each of these result sets in their own branch.
Each set if results contains three data objects, table a, b and c.
Each result set is of variable length, table a is the same length as b, but different from c.
I have failed to understand how to store data of different lengths within the same branch. If i could do that, I’d probably be ok.

I’d imagined that if i could store each table in a child branch, off the original result branch, then i’d avoid my failure to understand how table a, b and c can be variable and differently sized!

Hope this helps to clarify what I’m up to.

Cheers
Gerard

Hi Gerard,

thinking at a problem from the data point of view is usually rather rewarding :slight_smile: