Confusion regarding accumulate with vectors

Hi there,

I’m pretty new to Root, so am not sure if I’m doing something wrong, but the following code is almost entirely copied from an example and runs fine on an online C++ Shell, however has an intermittent issue with the std::accumulate line when running in Root.

What is more confusing is that the same code worked when first tried in Root, and then having changed a copy of the code, closed and re-opened the terminal, it would not run?

The error that comes up is as follows: "Function accumulate(myvector.begin(),myvector.end(),0.0) is not defined in current scope ".

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Alistair.

{
#include <iostream>
#include <vector>
#include <numeric>

std::vector<int> myvector;
  for (int i=1; i<=5; i++) myvector.push_back(i);

std::cout << "myvector contains:";
  for (std::vector<int>::iterator it = myvector.begin() ; it != myvector.end(); ++it)
    std::cout << ' ' << *it;
  std::cout << '\n';

int tot = std::accumulate(myvector.begin(),myvector.end(),0.0);

std::cout << tot << std::endl;

return 0;
}```
___
_ROOT Version: 5.34/36
_Platform: Linux 2.6
_Compiler: Terminal
___

Hi Alistair,
I think the problem is that you have #includes inside the body of your function. More issues might be due to your ROOT version (please switch to v6 if possible, v5 has not been actively developed in years).

Cheers,
Enrico

Hi Enrico,

Thanks for the reply; I’ll try that, but I had a much longer function (not attached as it’s way too long) with the #includes outside and that still didn’t work?
I’ll try switching, but that may be difficult as I’m on a shared system - Any chance of a workaround for version 5?

Thanks again,
Alistair

Hi, as a start let’s see how it goes without includes in the function body :slight_smile:

1 Like