Compiling Macro Error Linking Issue

Hi I recently downloaded the ROOT 6.24.06 Windows binary .exe with a Visual Studio 2022 as my compiler. I am new to both Root and c++ in general attempting to compile a macro that had been sent to me by others who had been using it on a different version of root and works with both Linux and MacOS.

In the root command line I typed .L dig.C+O which is in my macros folder within ROOT. As a new user I cannot upload a snip of the error but I will type out the output text surrounding the fatal error to start.

note: ‘C:/root_v6.24.06/include/RtypesCore.h’ included multiple times, additional include site here
fatal error: cannot open file ‘input_line_3’: no such file or directory
C:/root_v6.24.06/include\Rtypes.h:23:10: note: ‘C:/root_v6.24.06/include/RtypesCore.h’ included multiple times, additional include site here “RtypesCore.h”

I apologize that this is an inefficient way of showing the full error text, I could upload the full output message if need be including the non fatal errors. I’m not exactly sure what ‘input_line_3’ is referring to and I am unsure at the switch between / and \ in the fatal error statement.

ROOT Version: 6.24.06
Platform: Windows
Compiler: Visual Studio Community 2022

Welcome to the ROOT Forum!
First, you might encounter some issues with a different version of Visual Studio than the one used to build the binary you downloaded, but let’s try nevertheless. I suppose you started ROOT from a x86 Native Tools Command Prompt for VS 2022 ?

Well, you can copy & paste the text of the error message in your post. Anyway, can you run any of the ROOT tutorials? First interpreted (e.g. .x hsimple.C) and then compiled with ACLiC (e.g. .x hsimple.C+)

I have started root both through the desktop shortcut which pulls up a command prompt and starting root from a VS 2022 command prompt (not 100% about the x86 Native Tools part)