CMAKE - ROOT_DIR= does not exist

ROOT Version: root_v5.34.36 is the result of echo $ROOTSYS
Platform: Ubuntu 20.04

Hello all,

I’m trying to install g4beamline on my Ubuntu machine and I’ve run into some issues. Running the command

cmake …/G4beamline-3.06

yields the result

CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:94 (message):
ROOT_DIR= does not exist

– Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also “/home/cyrus/G4beamline-3.06/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log”.

Lines 91-96 are

if(G4BL_ROOT)
set(ROOT_DIR "ENV{ROOTSYS}" CACHE PATH "Directory containing Root") if(NOT IS_DIRECTORY {ROOT_DIR})
message(FATAL_ERROR “ROOT_DIR=${ROOT_DIR} does not exist”)
endif()
endif()

I’ve tried and failed some things including nuking the directory and starting again, manually setting the path, editing the .bashrc file, and a few other things but long story short I’m new to this and out of ideas. This might not be the best place to ask but stackoverflow didn’t help and the g4beamline group hasn’t accepted my invite yet. Does anyone have any suggestions for something I could try? I am also willing to provide more information, I think I’ve done everything on the checklist / included relevant info

echo $ROOTSYS” should return “/full/path/to/your/root” directory (e.g., check “ls $ROOTSYS/bin/root-config”).
In principle, “ROOTSYS” should be properly defined after you execute “source /full/path/to/your/root/bin/thisroot.sh” (in the current shell).

echo $ROOTSYS does return the filepath (and same with the ls command you suggested), I was just answering the recommended suggestion of including of what platform / version I have

Make sure you execute (in the same terminal window):

cd /some/working/directory/not/equal/to/where/your/sources/are
source /full/path/to/your/root/bin/thisroot.sh
echo ${ROOTSYS} # just to make sure it is correct
cmake /.../G4beamline-3.06 # assuming this directory keeps your sources

I tried this but I’m still getting the same

CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:94 (message):