Closing Gui Application crash

Hey All!

I am quite new to rootTalk, and have searched the forum for my problem and did not find anything equal. Hope, i am right here.
So:

I have a crash when i want to quit my gui with pyROOT, which i don’t understand. If someone could help me or show a workaround, that would be great :slight_smile:

I work on the following conditions:

Scientifix Linux 6.5 (Carbon) with GNOME 2.28.2
Python 2.6.6
ROOT 5.34/17

I post a minimal example and the entire stack trace in attachment:

import ROOT

if __name__ == "__main__":
    window = ROOT.TGMainFrame(ROOT.gClient.GetRoot())
    quitButton = ROOT.TGTextButton( window, "quit") 
    window.AddFrame(quitButton)
    window.MapSubwindows()
    window.Resize( window.GetDefaultSize() )
    window.MapWindow()
    def test(window):
        print "TEST"
        window.Cleanup()
    quitButton.Connect("Clicked()", "TPyDispatcher", ROOT.TPyDispatcher(lambda : test(window)), "Dispatch()")
    raw_input("Press Enter to quit\n")

Thanks alot, cheers
Daniel
stack-trace.txt (6 KB)
minimalExample.py (492 Bytes)

Hi,

python uses reference counting, so you have to make sure that you keep references outstanding to any objects that you wish to reference in the future. The worst is probably “ROOT.TPyDispatcher(lambda : test(self))” which in your code disappears after the Connect() call. But especially during cleanup, you have to make sure the order is the way you want it: you are destroying the window while you’re working with it.

A simple way of dealing with the order, is to make all graphics parents have references to their graphics children, and then let python deal with the cleanup the normal way. See $ROOTSYS/tutorials/pyroot/gui_ex.py for an example.

HTH,
Wim

Dear Wim!

Thanks A LOT for your fast answer. I have to admit, i dont totaly understand everything.

[quote=“wlav”]Hi,