ClassificationKeras launching

Hello,

I’m new to ROOT so I’m sorry if the answer is obvious.
In the past days I have tried some TMVA tutorial files, they have all worked expect the python files. I have tried to launch the ClassificationKeras.py as I would launch TMVAClassification.C (i.e root -l ClassificationKeras.py). I assume, from all the error: invalid preprocessing directive’s I get, this is not the way to launch it. I assume it probably needs to be launched via pyroot? Any advice would be welcome.

Cheers.

ROOT Version: 6.22.08
Platform: Ubuntu 20.04.2.0

The good thing is I figured how to launch the .py file, sadly now i have this problem

pyroot ClassificationKeras.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "ClassificationKeras.py", line 17, in <module>
    from keras.models import Sequential
  File "/snap/root-framework/121/usr/local/lib/ROOT/_facade.py", line 121, in _importhook
    return _orig_ihook(name, *args, **kwds)
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'keras'

Thanks for any help in advance

Hey,

The snap package has a unqiue way of launching pyroot, with the pyroot binary. Internally this is just a normal python distribution. In other ROOT packages, you’d call python directly.

Beyond this, there are two other problems here.

Firstly, the snap doesn’t actually come bundled with TensorFlow/Keras, I’ve been debating whether to include it for a while, the main issue being Tensorflow/Keras is massive relative to the current size of the snap, I was capable of making the snap fit into 350mb of hard disk trivially, with Tensorflow it’ll shoot up from its current size of 500MB to about 1GB, and CUDA in the future will probably push this further. Regardless, I think I’ll concede here and just bundle it regardless because of the sheer utility the package provides.

The other problem is, from what I recall the way of actually using Keras has changed and a lot of the tutorials are currently still outdated, and you might need to edit the file to use