Cannot open gdml file

Hi everyone

Im a complete beginner using ROOT so please be patient

I guess there is something that is not imported yet. Do any of you have any ideas?

Im trying to import my gdml file with “TGeoafTGeoManager::Import(“tileFingerPos.gdml”);”

The error message:
“Error: Function Import(“tileFingerPos.gdml”) is not defined in current scope (tmpfile):1:
*** Interpreter error recovered ***”

Many thanks

Daniel

Try to execute root-config --has-python and root-config --has-gdml and see if you get “yes” in both cases.

Yes these seems to be correct:

In your first post, I can see a “misspelled” command TGeoafTGeoManager::Import("tileFingerPos.gdml"); and this “misspelled” class name will generate the error that you get in ROOT 5 (ROOT 6 will give you another error message). However, if you try the proper command TGeoManager::Import("tileFingerPos.gdml"); then it should work fine.

Thanks for the answer

The command was misspelled in the text, but it was correct in the image. The “TGeoManager::Import(“tileFingerPos.gdml”);” does still not work for me:

What is your ROOT version and how did you install it?

I believe ROOT 5.34/38 was already installed on my VM. Is this version too old?

That should still be fine.
Somehow, it behaves like it did not know the “TGeoManager” class.
Try to execute (there should be “libGeom”, “libGeomBuilder” and “libGeomPainter”):

ls -al ${ROOTSYS}/lib/libGeom*

Finally I added the variables like this:
export ROOTSYS=/home/cbjorkma/root/root
export PATH=$ROOTSYS/bin:$PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ROOTSYS/lib:LD_LIBRARY_PATH And with this variable definitions can I now access the libraries with "ls -al {ROOTSYS}/lib/libGeom*"

But even then the error message is the same when I try to open my gdml file:

Any idea of where the error could be?

Try to first run “source /home/cbjorkma/root/root/bin/thisroot.sh” and then in the same terminal session start root.

I tried and it gave me this error message: