Build a tree with text files

Hi,

Please consider that I am new to ROOT

I want to create a tree with two different branches corresponding to two different data sets, and fill these two branches with two leaves: one for all the x coordinates and the second one for all the y coordinates. The issue is that I have huge data sets stored in 4 different text files.

I hence have two questions:
1)Does it make sense to proceed this way (two branches with two leaves each for the 4 coordinates)?
2)If yes, how could I fill the leaves with my text files?

Thank you very much.

Hi, if you haven’t already, take a look at the TTree tutorials, in particular basic2.C reads data from a text file using TTree::ReadFile (you can read more about it in the ROOT reference).

In first approximation. branches are ROOT’s name for table “columns” (except they can contain structured data instead of simple alphanumerical values); so in general it would probably not be a good idea to store each one of your data-sets in a different branch: you would end up with columns of different lengths!

Depending on your problem it might make sense to store each data-set in a separate TTree (and then maybe store both TTrees in the same TFile), or store all of the data in a single TTree with just two branches x and y.

Hi,

Thank you very much for your answer.

Both data sets have the same size.
I will briefly explain what my problem is about:
Basically, I’m working on a project with one of my teachers that involves neural networks; I will be using the ROOT libraries for that (the “mlpHiggs.C” classification neural network, you can find the program at the following address: C:\root\tutorials\mlp).