Bugs in "TFile" when using C++17?

Sorry if this question is too basic; I am very new to ROOT. I am trying to compile a program using some ROOT header files and the following Makefile options:

CXX = g++
CXXFLAGS = -march=native `root-config --cflags --libs` -std=c++17 
LDFLAGS = `root-config --cflags --libs`

The result is a huge number of errors starting with the following (when using “TString.h”)

/usr/local/bin/root_v6.20.02/include/ROOT/RStringView.hxx:32:84: error: conflicting declaration of template ‘template<class _CharT, class _Traits> using basic_string_view = std::experimental::__ROOT::basic_string_view<_CharT, _Traits>’

and then the second error:

In file included from /usr/include/c++/7/memory:74:0,                                                             
                 from /usr/local/bin/root_v6.20.02/include/ROOT/TypeTraits.hxx:15,                                
                 from /usr/local/bin/root_v6.20.02/include/TString.h:29,                                          
                 from /usr/local/bin/root_v6.20.02/include/TNamed.h:26,                                           
                 from /usr/local/bin/root_v6.20.02/include/TDictionary.h:44,                                      
                 from /usr/local/bin/root_v6.20.02/include/TDataType.h:25,                                        
                 from /usr/local/bin/root_v6.20.02/include/TBuffer.h:24,                                          
                 from /usr/local/bin/root_v6.20.02/include/TDirectory.h:24,                                       
                 from /usr/local/bin/root_v6.20.02/include/TDirectoryFile.h:25,                                   
                 from /usr/local/bin/root_v6.20.02/include/TFile.h:27,                                            
                 from test.cpp:2: