Background Subtraction ShowBackground

Hello, apologies for the toddler question, but how can I subtract the background from a TH1 spectra after using ShowBackground?

Thanks in advance, Ben.

h1->Add(h1_background, -1.);

Nuff said.

Hi there. I’m having trouble implementing this. Can anyone tell me what I’m doing wrong?

TH1D* Background = (TH1D*)Spectrum->ShowBackground(20,"same"); //The above compiles fine, but is evidently wrong as I get segfaults the moment I try to do this:

Spectrum->Add(Background, -1.0);

I know Spectrum is a valid TH1D* as it writes correctly to a root file, but ANY operation on Background (SetName, etc) causes a segfault.

Thanks in advance,

Conor

Alright lad, I’m a root rookie, but I got this working. In a rush so can’t chop it up, but the macro attached is a peakfinder which loops over your spectrum, finds a peak - clones it - fits a background - subtracts the background - outputs integral of the peak.

You’ll need at least version 5.12 (maybe - 5.13 is what I use) to get ShowBackground to work. You can set ‘niter’ - the fitting parameter in the code. I found the default of 20 to be ok.

to do the subtraction you need to call the background a separate spectra. It’s a ‘virtual’ object or some shit so root hides it away when it outputs.

Hopefully you can find some useful bits, tarra.

(oh, don’t use this to get the integral, prob better to do a binwidth-indep gaussian, i.e “gausn”/binwidth)
itch_56.C (5.49 KB)

Thanks for the help, but still no luck.
I tried the following, and I’m still getting a segfault:

TString SpecName = Spectrum->GetName(); TString BackGnd = "_background"; TString BackName = SpecName+BackGnd;
            Spectrum->ShowBackground(20, "BackOrder4");

Spectrum->Draw();

std::cout << "notseggedyet" << std::endl;
            TH1D *BackGround = (TH1D*)gDirectory->Get(BackName);
            std::cout << "notseggedyet" << std::endl;
            BackGround->Write();