A lament on ROOT's memory management

I have recently spent a comical half-hour debugging a standalone C++ program that I have written that uses Minuit2 to do some fitting. After much ado I found that the TFitterMinuit, when deleted, feels that it is its duty to also delete the pointer to my FCNBase-derived object, which I was also trying to delete. Although I am permitted to delete one or the other, I am not permitted to delete both. Now I’ve been using ROOT for five years or so now, and at first I was mystified when I didn’t have to delete all the histograms I myself allocated in my first standalone programs, but I grew to accept that a force beyond my reckoning was making sure I had no memory leaks. And I must admit that within the interpreter such sloppy pointer management is mandatory if you want to actually look at any histograms you’ve drawn after your macro exits. But now we are talking about a class that I wrote, dammit! I was the one who spent all the time trying to figure out what in God’s holy name Moneta was thinking when he wrote this package since he didn’t see fit to comment hardly anything, and I spent the time re-learning the interface to use a package that I later find out is over a factor of two slower than the previous version, which I didn’t even know was still in use because there are two pages in the manual telling me nothing about how to actually use it in code. I think that by that measure I have earned the right to manage my own memory at least in this case. Stop making it easier for me to write crappy code! I actually get excited when I get to delete something that I allocated–to anyone else programming in C++ outside of the ROOT world that is complete insanity. I should be cursing over having to delete every little thing.

OK now I feel better. Thanks for listening if you made it this far.

Hello,